Mission Statement

The SBM Charitable Foundation, Inc., perpetuating the vision of the former Savings Bank of Manchester, is committed to bettering the lives of those who live and work predominantly East of the River in Hartford, Tolland, and Windham Counties. Priorities established for the Foundation’s giving are Health, Human Services, Education, Housing, and the Arts.


Executive Director
Doreen H. Downham

Phone: (860) 533-0355

Foundation and Scholarship Director
Kelley R. Gunther

Phone: (860) 533-1067

Office Fax: (860) 533-0241
Office Address:
935 Main Street, Level C, Unit B101
Manchester, CT 06040


Laurence P. RubinowChairman

Richard P. MeduskiPresident

Douglas K. Anderson, Vice President

Charles L. Pike, Vice President

Brian A. Orenstein, Treasurer

Sheila B. Flanagan, Retired Executive Director

Molly Devanney
Harry S. Gaucher
Michael J. Hartl
Susan M. Keating
Linda S. Klein
John D. LaBelle, Jr.
Eric A. Marziali
Jon L. Norris
Stephen O’Neill
Richard D. Suski
Gregory S. Wolff
Timothy J. Devanney, Director Emeritus
William D. O’Neill, Director Emeritus
A. Paul Berté (Past Director, 2001-2012)
Timothy J. Moynihan (Past Director 2001-2020)
John G. Sommers (Past Director, 2001-2013)
Thomas E. Toomey (Past Director, 2001-2012)

SBM Charitable Foundation, Inc.

935 Main Street, Level C, Suite B101

Manchester, CT 06040

Phone: (860) 533-0355